Skip to content
August 19, 2009 / Katie

The Greatest Thing You’ll Ever Learn

I just had a wonderful birthday. I spent a majority of the day rotating between reading blogs, reading Harry Potter books (I’m trying to read through all of them before the 7th movie comes out. I don’t have a lot of time to read for pleasure, so no, this is not starting too early!) and working on some long-put-off organizing and cleaning that needs done. It probably doesn’t sound like much of an exciting birthday day, but to get in some good work and some good rest, and the feeling of accomplishment each time I finished a project was really a delight.

I met my spouse, Scott, at The Chocolate Box in downtown Seattle on his way home from work, where I picked out some truffles and chocolate covered macadamia nuts as part of my birthday gift. Then we went and enjoyed a leisurely two-hour four-course meal at our favorite little neighborhood restaurant, Thomas St. Bistro. This was followed by watching Moulin Rouge, a yearly tradition since 2007, when, exactly two weeks after the day we met, we celebrated my birthday by watching it at the outdoor theater in the Seattle Center, under the Space Needle and the stars. The movie has become even more integral to our relationship since we adopted the phrase “come what may” as our sort of relationship slogan, and had it engraved inside our wedding rings.

Throughout the day I was peppered with birthday greetings in the form of phone calls and voicemails, emails, Facebook comments and text messages wishing me well.

What a wonderful birthday, filled with good food, good work, good rest, and relationship with my spouse, family, dear friends and acquaintances. It reminds me that love is what it’s all about. I’m going to come back with more on that soon; some thoughts that have been tumbling around in my head about love. For now I’ll leave you with the quote that begins and ends the movie Moulin Rouge:

The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return.

Amen to that.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Cleric at Large / Aug 19 2009 8:59 am

    You’ve ~almost~ made me want to go back and re-watch Moulin Rouge in a more generous frame of mind.

    • Katie / Aug 19 2009 10:39 am

      haha :) It seems to be one of those movies people either really love or really hate!

      FWIW, I absolutely couldn’t stand it the first time I watched it. A few years later my roommates popped some popcorn and put it on in the living room. I figured I might as well just sit through it to be social rather than hole myself up alone in a Saturday night. And by about halfway in, something moved me, and I started to like it. Now it’s one of my favorites :)

  2. Jess / Aug 19 2009 7:09 pm

    I am in the LOVE camp for Moulin Rouge! The first time I saw was in the theater while on a vacation with my best friend of ten years. I’ve since seen it a countless number of times.

    Also, Happy Birthday!

  3. Mary Kate / Aug 27 2009 10:51 am

    The first time I saw Moulin Rouge was at a preview screening and I didn’t know what to expect – I hadn’t realised they were using songs we would know from another context – I thought it would be an original score. I absolutely hooted when he started to sing The Hills Are Alive.

    I am from Dublin where we don’t go in for interaction with the movie screen much but we were drumming our heels on the floor and clapping with hilraity during Like A Virgin and everybody applauded and cheered at the end. The exuberance of it was so infectious.

    I love when the moon joins in the love duet – and when little old Toulouse echoes their refrain.

Leave a Reply

