Skip to content
August 31, 2009 / Katie

Some Basic Blog Mechanics

Dear regular readers, I have two mechanical points to discuss with you today.

First, for everyone: I am thinking about “cutting” my posts such that only a short portion of the post appears on the main blog page and RSS feeds, with a “read more” link to take you to the full post. Different blogs do it differently, some posting in entirety, others cutting after a few paragraphs, and still others cutting after just a few sentences. So before I make the decision to cut posts, I’d like feedback from those of you who read this blog regularly regarding what would work best for you, and then I can take that into consideration when I decide. Please fill out the poll and feel free to clarify as necessary in the comments. Thanks!

Second, for those of you who are reading this blog on Google Reader: Reader William has kindly informed me that if you added this blog to your Google Reader feed within the first week or two of it being up, it comes up as “Untitled” instead of as “Kataphatic.” This is because it took me a couple weeks to figure out how to put the title in there without having it show up right over the top of my custom header. If you added the feed before I fixed it, and you are seeing my blog come up as “Untitled” on your Google Reader, you can just take it off and re-add it to fix the problem.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Anna / Aug 31 2009 2:46 pm

    I’d unsubscribe if you made the change. I do not read blogs that require clickthroughs.

    • Katie / Aug 31 2009 3:33 pm

      Anna, are you reading it on the main page of the blog itself or through an RSS feed?

  2. living400lbs / Aug 31 2009 3:30 pm

    FYI, I switched to not having the entire post on the RSS feed because there’s a lot of pseudo-blogs that will use RSS to “host” your content on their site, along with a lot of ads. By only having part of the post go out via RSS it helps to minimize it and encourage people to visit you occasionally. :)

  3. Meowser / Sep 1 2009 10:26 pm

    I read this blog via the Fatosphere feed. I provide full feeds because I know that people often read at work and have limited time (and often limited access) and thus are not able to click through and read the entire thing. I frequently skip through partial posts on the feed if I only have a few minutes to glance at the feed.

    I think if people are determined to steal your content, they will do it, full feeds or not; it’s not that much harder to go to someone’s site and poach the content off there than it is to pull it off an RSS feed.

Leave a Reply

