Skip to content
September 10, 2009 / Katie

One More Step Toward Ordination

As part of my process toward ordination as a Deacon in the United Methodist Church I have a meeting this afternoon with the District Committee on Ordained Ministry (DCOM).

The United Methodist Church is divided into jurisdictions (five total in the US), and within the jurisdictions are conferences (usually one or two states), and within the conferences are districts. Yes, it is complicated. When you feel called to be ordained, the first step is getting your own church to give you their official support, and then you go to the DCOM, the committee for the district that deals with things related to ordination.

In May of 2006, the Seattle DCOM certified me as a “candidate for ordained ministry” and in the ensuing years I have met with them once yearly for an annual check-in and re-certification.

Today I’m asking for something different; I’m asking them to recommend me to the Committee on Commissioning, which is the conference-wide board that recommends candidates for probationary ordination. So as you can see, the process increases from local church –> district –> conference.

I’m slightly nervous but I definitely feel ready; in fact I could have done this a year ago but I didn’t want to overload myself. Preparing for the interview with the Committee on Commissioning is intense, and I didn’t think doing that at the same time as getting married and finishing grad school was a good idea. I can focus on it a lot more this year.

My meeting with the DCOM is at 12:30pm PST. Wish me luck and send prayers!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. living400lbs / Sep 10 2009 1:04 pm

    Good luck!

  2. erin / Sep 10 2009 1:25 pm

    good luck! i know its a scary and intense step. (my fiancee’s ex-wife (now deceased) was a Methodist minister.)

    keep us posted.

  3. Cleric at Large / Sep 10 2009 1:38 pm

    Prayers ascending.

Leave a Reply

