Skip to content
October 1, 2009 / Katie

Beautiful

This gorgeous video is making the rounds. As I watched it, I not only felt deeper appreciation for my body—and all its scars, marks, and lines—but also found images of the beauty of so many women in my community washing over me. One of the things it made me think about was how we make this distinction between “inner beauty” and “outer beauty” but this video really stands in the blur between these artificial constructions. So many of the lines, marks, scars, and curves of our body testify to experiences we’ve had; beautiful things we’ve done. Like giving birth, smiling, living and loving. Inner and outer beauty interact, reflecting and enhancing one another and making each one of us uniquely and truly beautiful.

As you watch this, allow it to remind you of your true beauty.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. meerkat / Oct 1 2009 7:39 pm

    I can relate (to parts of it anyway) because I like the scratch marks I get occasionally from fostering kittens, but I don’t like the scar I made while trying to cut a bagel (that was just stupidity). But I can’t apply it to stretch marks because I didn’t get those by doing something.

  2. Kimbo / Oct 1 2009 9:54 pm

    This video is amazing, gave me goosebumps! Thanks for sharing it! Love you :)

  3. Christi / Oct 2 2009 5:41 am

    Thank you so much. I’m passing it along to everyone I know. This message needs to be heard loud and clear.

  4. EmilyZ / Oct 6 2009 7:14 pm

    Thank you! This is amazing. I posted it on facebook

Leave a Reply

