Skip to content
November 21, 2009 / Katie

Gratitude

It’s that time of year; the (American) Thanksgiving Holiday is approaching in just a few days. And as I’m looking forward to sharing dinner with my family on Thursday, I’ve also been reflecting about what I’m grateful for.

It started a few weeks ago, at the gym, sitting in the sauna after a jaunt on the elliptical machine and a few laps in the pool. My whole body felt the perfect combination of relaxed and energized, and I felt so immensely grateful for the body that allows me to experience these things that feel so good. I love the sort of “floaty jogging” feel of the elliptical (at least that’s what being on the machine feels like to me!). I love the way the water feels on my body, providing both resistance and support, and so soft. I love the instant relaxation of the heat from the steam in the sauna.

In that moment I was awash with the realization of just how much I’m grateful for my body.

In my body I can dance, playfully shaking my hips or intimately swaying with a partner. In my body I can kiss, caress, and make love to my husband. In my body I can hug my sisters, touch the arm of a troubled friend, take the hand of a small child. In my body I can squeal or laugh when I’m happy and cry precious tears when I’m sad. In my body I can savor the delicious taste of just-barely-undercooked fresh-out-of-the-oven chocolate chip cookies and savor the juicy goodness of crisp, cold, fresh cucumbers. In my body I can close my eyes and listen to music or open my eyes to gaze at art, both of which inspire and transform me. In my body I get to feel the world around me—the wind on my face, the temperature of the air, the feeling and texture of my steering wheel or the crosswalk button or the straps of my purse. In this wonderful body I get to move throughout the world in a sensual way, experiencing both pure delight and transformative pain that challenges, teaches, and matures me.

And the cool thing? That my body size has no bearing whatsoever on my ability to delight in my body’s ability to do these amazing things.

So this Thanksgiving, I am grateful for my body, exactly as it is.

What are you grateful for?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. QuiltLuvr / Nov 21 2009 10:58 pm

    I’m grateful for all the wonderful people in the fat-o-sphere who keep me sane.

    I’m grateful that I have a job and my partner has a job.

    I’m grateful for the best, cutest grandson in the whole world. He just fills me with joy and wonder. Who knew it would be so wonderful to be a gramma?

  2. HisDoll / Nov 22 2009 12:37 am

    I’m grateful for my husband and our baby, both of whom keep me sane and happy, and love me exactly as I am.

    I’m grateful the husband finds me sexy, and is able to make me see it when I lose sight.

    I’m grateful for my family’s support in everything I do.

    I’m grateful for the friends I have because, while they are few in number, they are dear to my heart.

  3. Molly Fraser / Jan 8 2010 11:03 am

    I’m grateful for this beautiful reflection that I can share with other friends who think the only reason they have to lose weight is to look good.

Leave a Reply

