Skip to content
July 7, 2010 / Katie

Ask Facebook to stop supporting Fat Hatred

This great post from Keep All Your Misery came up on the feed today and I just had to point it out to you.

Are you, like me, sick of flagging fat-hating Facebook groups to no avail?

When you set up a page or group, Facebook tells you: “groups that attack a specific person or group of people (e.g. racist, sexist, or other hate groups) will not be tolerated. Creating such a group will result in the immediate termination of your Facebook account.”

So, thinking that Facebook might actually, you know, honor their policy, many of us have flagged groups like “we all know a fat slag who thinks their fit” or “beautiful girls, all over the world, except you. fat bitch.”  We’ve flagged the groups that publicly post images of bloggers without their permission, are filled with hate-filled comments, and dehumanize and attempt to humiliate fat folks.  And yet the groups remain, despite the flaggers pointing out that the fact that they clearly constitute hate.

Fierce, Freethinking Fatties has set up a Facebook group demanding Facebook to apply their hate speech policy to groups hating on fatties.  Click here to join!

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. fivehundredpoundpeep / Jul 7 2010 5:21 pm

    I don’t believe in the concept of hate speech, [believe first admendment should apply to even stupid, mean and ignorant speech], there is no way fat people are going to be able to stop the mean, ignorant and nasty of the world. While your intentions seem good, this is one thing that does concern me, I do not want to lose freedom even in the defense of my own “special interest group”. {I am very supersized by the way}

    • Katie / Jul 7 2010 5:28 pm

      Shakesville has a good post (see especially after the video) about the difference between hate speech and free speech.

      But, also, Facebook is a private company. It’s not the government. So I’m not sure what you’re afraid of. Getting some hateful groups that are doing actual damage to actual human beings kicked off of Facebook—if we’re successful—isn’t going to do anything to damage your first amendment rights. I promise.

    • tolonda / Jul 12 2010 12:43 pm

      this campaign is not asking for special rights or treatment. it is asking facebook to consistently enforce it’s own existing policy.

  2. Lila / Jul 7 2010 6:22 pm

    I have a college buddy who works at Facebook (and is a super cool, love-yourself-the-way-you-are, dirty hippie). I’ll send this to him and see if he can do anything.

    • Katie / Jul 7 2010 7:23 pm

      oh right on! Thanks!

    • atchka / Jul 8 2010 9:22 am

      YES!!!! Lila, something that wasn’t pointed out in the HuffPo article is that I did contact a media rep at Facebook and her reply was basically that they only remove hate speech directed at “protected groups.” I assume she meant federally protected classes. But you know what groups are NOT federally protected? Sexual orientation and gender identity. But just TRY and find a hate group directed at homosexuals or transgendered persons.

      I included the email in this post (just look for the block quotes… it’s a long’un) and I never received a followup to my question about sexual orientation and gender identity.

      http://fiercefatties.com/2010/06/28/sea-change

      Thank you for helping!

      Peace,
      Shannon

  3. atchka / Jul 8 2010 9:23 am

    Kataphatic, you’re Katatastic!!!

    Thank you for helping us shout from the rooftops. Every voice makes us louder!

    Peace,
    Shannon

  4. Scattered Marbles / Jul 8 2010 12:49 pm

    I love the idea of that group and I too have been flagging and writing to facebook about these hate groups but I can’t join as the pic they have used for the “Facebook, Please Stop Permitting Fat Hatred” group is something I don’t feel comfortable having in my feed. Not because of the pic itself by Leonard Nimoy which I think is gorgeous and am a big fan of one of the models used in it, but I have many young children, teens, and more conservative adults as friends and family who would be offended by, or just don’t need to see any nude pictures, and I feel the need to protect them. Please know however that I am supporting you and the group as much as I can by continuing to flag these groups. :-)

    Thanks for writing about this!!

    • atchka / Jul 8 2010 1:24 pm

      Scattered Marbles,
      A very valid point and I hadn’t even considered it. I will look for a new image to replace it so that it is more family friendly. If I kept that photo in our photo album would that be okay?

      Peace,
      Shannon

      • Scattered Marbles / Jul 9 2010 3:19 pm

        Shannon that new picture is BEAUTIFUL thank you so much for taking my thoughts into consideration I will gladly join now without any worries :-) I appreciate that!

    • atchka / Jul 8 2010 3:07 pm

      Okay, I changed the picture. Come join us now! :)

      Peace,
      Shannon

  5. Fat Nurse / Jul 8 2010 1:00 pm

    Thank you hun. I’m so glad others are willing to fight for our fat brothers and sisters <3 xx

Trackbacks

  1. Really, it’s not about the money, it’s about class warfare | Rubber Donkey.org

Leave a Reply

