Skip to content
January 20, 2011 / Katie

Baby’s hilarious reaction to grapefruit

So I ran across this animated gif on teh intarwebz recently and I can’t stop laughing at it:

The look on her face and the way she falls over just cracks me up!

And I totally know that look, too.

I personally happen to like grapefruit, but there are other foods to which I have a strong negative reaction.  Raw tomatoes.  Mushrooms (unless they are chopped up very finely and mixed with something), ketchup, yellow mustard.  Yams and sweet potatoes.  English cheddar.

Vinegar.  Anything with a strong vinegar flavor.  Heck, anything with a strong vinegar smell.  That one gives me the same face that baby has.

What foods give you this reaction?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ashley Pariseau / Jan 20 2011 8:45 am

    Haha that’s cute.

    Coleslaw, hate it. And beer. I can’t stand the smell or taste of most kinds of beer.

  2. Twistie / Jan 20 2011 10:25 am

    Beets. I put them in my mouth and they want OUT! NOW! Tripe. Just not for me at all. Oh, and I’m a fellow mushroom hater, here. They don’t scream to get out of my mouth, but then they really don’t want to go in, either. What’s more, I can’t be bothered with cherries. And marzipan causes a reaction much like that toddler’s reaction to grapefruit in me. And I dislike both the flavor and texture of asparagus.

    Some foodie, huh? LOL!

  3. April D / Jan 20 2011 11:07 am

    Twistie I’ll take all your mushrooms and marzipan! ;)

    This little baby’s reaction is adorable but sums up my reaction to brussel sprouts, coleslaw, organ meats (liver, etc), coconut.

  4. Twistie / Jan 20 2011 11:26 am

    It’s a deal, April D!

    And I’ll happily save you from Brussels sprouts, coleslaw, cocoanut, and some of those organ meats. What? My background is Scottish, Irish, and German. I’m not giving up haggis or braunschwagger!

  5. Sarah / Jan 20 2011 12:10 pm

    Vinegar, lemon, granny smith apples, rhubarb, crab apples all give me that exact face. Plenty of other foods make me look weird, but none quite as much as those listed.

  6. Elkins / Jan 20 2011 4:49 pm

    That’s a perfect series of facial expressions, indeed.

    Spinach is the food that engenders that response in me. I love most of the vegetables that people with aversions to bitter veggies are supposed to hate, like broccoli and brussel sprouts and so forth, but I find spinach so unbearably bitter that I honestly don’t understand how people can eat it. I gather that it doesn’t taste like ear wax to other people, the way it does to me.

  7. Dee / Jan 21 2011 3:00 am

    I avoid organ meats when I can, there’s a gamey pork taste that I hate (not present in all pork products), and the texture of meat fat makes me cringe a bit, but I can eat anything I’m served without reacting badly. This was burned into my mind by parents who worked at a university and had a lot of friends from different parts of the world – friends who invited us over to dinner. I was told to try a bit of everything and never react rudely, but that it was okay to ask for seconds of things I liked and leave things I didn’t like on my plate. I still pretty much follow those rules.

  8. erylin / Jan 21 2011 9:20 am

    i hate mushrooms (in certain soups its ok) im also a fellow raw tomato hater (mixed with things like salsa its fine…its mainly the squidgy seed bits). Also seafood….maybe its because i grew up landlocked, and my dad, being a relapsed catholic hated fish…there is something about the SMELL…that fishy smell /shudder. i CANT put that in my mouth. beets taste literally like dirt to me. and i am one of the lucky ones…cilantro (which seems like its in EVERYTHING these days) tastes like soap to me. or pencil lead…somewhere between the too.

Leave a Reply

